Auto accident claims are handled differently in each state. Even still, every person injured in a car accident deserves to be adequately compensated for their losses. Florida is a no-fault state and requires drivers to carry PIP coverage. If you believe your claim isn’t being handled as it should or you want to ensure you get what your claim is worth, contact a skilled Miami car accident attorney for help.
No-Fault vs. Fault States
In no-fault states like Florida, anyone injured in a car accident needs to file a Personal Injury Protection (PIP) claim on their own insurance policy. It doesn’t matter who is liable for the accident. Also known as medical payments coverage, PIP pays for medical expenses up to $10,000, which is the minimum amount of coverage required by Florida law. PIP allows claimants to get their medical expenses paid without having to go through the process of proving fault in an auto insurance claim.
However, Florida is a limited no-fault insurance state. Once the $10,000 coverage is used, then the injured party can pursue a claim against the at-fault party. Their claim would be filed under the other party’s bodily injury liability insurance or against their personal assets. It can be helpful to have the representation of a Miami car accident lawyer while you pursue this claim.
What Does Florida PIP Cover?
Florida PIP provides for medical expenses, lost wages, and death benefits. It can also cover the cost of necessary at-home services such as:
- House cleaning
- Pet care
PIP doesn’t just apply while you are driving. You can also file a PIP claim if you are hurt in a car accident while in another person’s car, riding a bike, or walking.
Suppose you suffer fatal injuries in a vehicle accident. In that case, Florida PIP will pay your family up to $5,000 for funeral expenses to your beneficiaries.
There are some limitations to PIP coverage in Florida. It only covers 80 percent of medical expenses and 60 percent of lost wages. For instance, if your lost wages are $10,000, PIP will cover $6,000 of them.
In the event that your injury is not considered an emergency, your PIP benefits are limited to just $2,500. You must receive medical treatment within 14 days of the accident, or you won’t get anything.
Meet with a Miami Car Accident Attorney Today
If you’ve been injured in an auto accident, insurance coverage can be confusing. Determining where to file your claim and how much you deserve for your injuries is often time-consuming while you are trying to recover from your injuries. When you enlist the help of a Miami car accident lawyer, they can get your claim filed, handled the insurance companies, and negotiate a fair settlement. They will know what your PIP coverage will pay for and what losses you will have to go after the other driver’s insurance policy for.
Call Flager Personal Injury Group today at 305-424-8445 or contact us online to schedule your free case consultation and find out how we can help you.