Sadly, car accidents happen all too often, so it is easy to understand why having good insurance is important. Car insurance is so important that drivers in Florida must have certain minimum policy requirements before they may legally drive a car. However, Florida law does not require many types of insurances, and therefore, many drivers are underinsured for accidents they may cause.
If you have been in an accident with someone who is uninsured or underinsured, you may be concerned about the amount of coverage available for your damages. This is exactly why many people choose to have uninsured motorist coverage as a backup. In this article, we will discuss minimum insurance requirements, penalties, and the basics of uninsured motorist insurance policies.
FLORIDA INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS
Before a driver can buy a car and take it out on the road, they need to have certain minimum insurance coverage. In Florida, a driver is required to have a minimum of $10,000 in personal injury protection and a minimum of $10,000 in property damage liability insurance. These policies must be in effect when the driver registers the vehicle and when the registration is renewed.
If a driver fails to have car insurance or meet the requirements, they can be penalized by the State. Penalties could include suspension of driver privileges and loss of a tag for up to three years.
WHY YOU SHOULD PROTECT YOURSELF WITH UNINSURED MOTORIST INSURANCE
Even though it is required by law, many drivers do not have insurance or are underinsured. The best way to protect yourself from these drivers is to have uninsured motorist insurance. Uninsured motorist coverage kicks in when the at-fault driver has no insurance or not enough insurance. In the event you get into an accident with such a driver, your policy will fill in the gaps left by the at-fault driver’s policy…. or lack of policy.
HOW FLAGLER PERSONAL INJURY GROUP CAN HELP
At Flagler Personal Injury Group, our team of dedicated and experienced car accident attorneys know how traumatizing a car accident is. Learning that the other driver is not insured or does not have enough insurance only makes matters worse. We will fight for your best interests and make sure you receive the compensation you deserve.
If you have been in an accident due to another driver’s negligence, call our office now for a free consultation. Don’t hesitate, act now! Contact us for a free consultation.