Ask a Miami Car Accident Attorney: Florida PIP Basics
Miami Car Accident Attorney – Florida is one of only a few states that requires drivers to carry no-fault auto insurance known as personal injury protection (PIP) insurance. The minimum required insurance coverage in Florida, PIP provides a basic level of minimum coverage for personal injuries and property damage liability. Even among states that require some form of PIP, Florida’s PIP mandate is one-of-a-kind. It is important to understand the basics of PIP coverage if you plan to drive in Florida using only PIP coverage.
PIP is Basic Medical Coverage at Low Cost
PIP is intended to provide low-income drivers with an affordable option to have access to auto insurance that provides a measure of coverage for medical expenses arising from injuries suffered in traffic accidents. Often referred to as “no-fault” insurance, PIP allows an insured driver to collect for medical costs regardless of who is at fault in the accident. Florida law sets PIP as the lowest level of insurance drivers may carry. In addition to PIP, Florida drivers are required to carry insurance known as PDL, or personal damage liability coverage. Both kinds of policies provide a policy with a limit of $10,000, one, PIP, covering injuries to yourself, regardless of fault in the accident, and one to cover damage you cause to someone else’s property in a traffic accident that is your fault. PDL doesn’t cover damage to your vehicle. Combined, these two policies are the bare minimum insurance Florida drivers must carry.
What Does PIP Cover?
If you have PIP coverage and are involved in a traffic accident in Florida, you are covered for medical expenses arising from injuries suffered in that accident, including:
- Standard medical treatments and medicine
- Most surgery
- Hospital expenses
- Physical therapy
PIP also covers funeral and burial expenses if you die in a traffic accident, up to $5,000, provided you still have coverage remaining under your policy limit of $10,000. Nonetheless, while other states offer some form of PIP insurance, Florida’s law is unique. Florida limits coverage of medical expenses to 80 percent of the total, even if you have not reached your policy limit. This means that if you have $10,000 in coverage and $10,000 in medical expenses, Florida PIP will cover only $8,000. Further, if your injuries are not considered an emergency, coverage is limited to $2,500.
If You Have Been Injured in an Accident With an Uninsured or Underinsured Driver, Contact a Miami Traffic Accident Attorney
If you have been injured in an accident involving a driver covered only by PIP or PDL insurance – or worse, no insurance at all — you should talk to a Miami traffic accident attorney to talk about your options for recovering damages. Contact Flagler Personal Injury Group at (305) 424-8445 or through our online contact form. Flagler Personal Injury Group serves the greater Miami area.
We handle a variety of cases, so call us now if you have any questions.
View more contact information here: Miami Traffic Accident Attorney.